About KU[N]ST Leuven

Contact us
Grote Markt Copyright Toerisme Leuven Min
© Toerisme Leuven


The Arenberg citywide project is a joint initiative of the City of Leuven and the KU Leuven and is coordinated by KU[N]ST Leuven. Every two years a major project is organized on a specific theme. The highlight of the city project is always an international loan exhibition at M – Museum Leuven.

In parallel with the exhibition and in collaboration with other players from the fields of culture, science and tourism, KU[N]ST Leuven puts together an insightful programme that approaches the theme from different angles and disciplines.

22 2189Cafd31D6Bd2A7535Fd5291E38869 Min
© Andy Merregaert

In 2014 the spotlight was on the world-famous anatomist and scientist Andreas Vesalius to mark the 500th anniversary of his birth.

In 2016 it was 500 years since the English humanist and politician Thomas More published his world-famous book 'Utopia' in Leuven. The city project attracted more than 220,000 participants, 90,137 of whom visited the international loan exhibition ‘In Search of Utopia’ at M.

Programmed for the autumn of 2018 is the ‘Five Centuries of Arenbergs’ festival about the noble Arenberg dynasty and its extraordinary art collection.


Denise Vandevoort (co-chair), Bart Raymaekers (co-chair), Peter Bary, Rob Belemans, Lien Berben, Geert Bouckaert, Els Buelens, Bert Demarsin, Piet Forger, Kristien Jacobs, Geert Robberechts, Sabine Vandenplas, Mieke Vandermotte, Jan Van der Stock, Geert Vanpaemel, Dirk Vansina and Mieke Wellens.


Count Herman Van Rompuy, President Emeritus of the European Council,
Minister of State and Visiting Professor (Chair)
Viscount Mark Eyskens, Minister of State and Emeritus Professor at KU Leuven (Vice-chair)
HSH The Duke of Arenberg
HSH Prince Henri of Arenberg
HSH Prince Etienne of Arenberg
HSH Prince Pierre of Arenberg
Professor Geert Bouckaert, Chair of the KU Leuven Contemporary Art Committee and President of the International Institute of Administrative Sciences (IIAS)
Baron Frans van Daele, Head of Cabinet to His Majesty the King of Belgium
Baron Koenraad Debackere, Managing Director of KU Leuven
Mr. Luc Delrue, Secretary-General of the Department of Culture, Youth, Sports and Media of the Flemish Government
Mr. Antoon De Proft, Chairman of the Board of IMEC
Baron Roger Dillemans, Honorary Rector of KU Leuven
Baron André Oosterlinck, Honorary Rector of KU Leuven and Chair of the KU Leuven Association Professor Bart Raymaekers, Vice Rector for Culture of KU Leuven
Professor Luc Sels, Rector of KU Leuven
Mr. Louis Tobback, Minister of State and Mayor of the City of Leuven
Ms Isabelle Vanden Hove, Director of the Arenberg Foundation
Ms Denise Vandevoort, Deputy Mayor for Culture of the City of Leuven

Contact us


Lien De Keukelaere

General coordinator
Telephone: +32 479 55 14 21
Email: lien.dekeukelaere@kunstleuven.be

Wouter Jaspers

Communcation & Press
Telephone: +32 476 35 08 41
Email: wouter.jaspers@kunstleuven.be